Quinoa Kale Galette

IMG_0691

IMG_0761           IMG_0736

Holy cow; it’s been a long time! I just got back home from a work conference. The training itself was only two days, but because the trip was a 5 hour drive, we broke it up and ended up spending the bulk of the week on the road or staying with family. It was a break from the usual and we were fortunate enough to spend per deim on some delicious food and to share family dinner with my family back in Westfield.

IMG_0650

IMG_0675 IMG_0683

IMG_0666

It was a good time, but it’s good to be back home and eating whole again. All that eating out did a number to my waist line, complextion, and belly. So these quinoa kale patties were a delicious Sunday night dinner that felt special but still healthy. I mean, come on, quinoa and kale… can you get anymore powerhouse? And they don’t taste like dirt either. They actually remind me of a quiche. I enjoy them most with a little soy sauce sprinkled on top and Kev tops his with a little homemade buffallo sauce (butter and hot sauce). Bottom line: I highly reccomend them. P.S. This is certainly something you could enjoy on the sorta-detox.

IMG_0842

IMG_0847

My source suggests less kale and adds in parsley, but I didn’t need a bunch of parsley for the rest of the week, so I skipped it.

1 1/2 cups raw quinoa

4 eggs, beaten

extra virgin olive oil

1 cup of whatever onion you have around. (I used scallions and red onion, but the originial recipe calls for one medium yellow onion) finely chopped

3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

4 cups chopped kale (remove the stems first)

apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese (tip: I keep my parmesean in the freezer, makes it easier to grate and last longer)

1/3 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes

1 cup panko bread crumbs (my store carries whole wheat with minimal preservatives in the asian section)

couple shakes of salt to taste

feel free to throw in some extra spices you think would go well, parsley, red pepper flakes, cumin, or just good ol’ pepper. Other websites also suggest lemon wedges, olives, capers, spicy mustard, and greens for serving, but I usually just make the patties because they do take some time. Last night I made a quickle pickle with ribboned cucumber and carrot with rice vinegar and honey to serve along side.

1.) rinse quinoa in a mesh strainer.  

2.) boil rinsed quinoa, 2 1/4 cups water, and 1/2 teaspoon salt.  Cover, decrease the heat, and simmer for about 25 t0 30 minutes.  Remove from heat and allow to cool.

3.) in another bowl, whisk eggs. Set aside.

4.) in large flat pan, heat some olive oil over medium heat and cook onions until translucent (4 minutes-ish).  Add garlic and saute for 1 minute.  Add kale and toss until just slightly wilted then remove from heat. (This happens quickly. My favorite tool for this task is a pair of silicon tongs.)  Add a splash of vinegar.  

IMG_0882

5.) toss kale mixture in a large bowl with quinoa.  Allow to cool to room temperature.

6.) Add cheese, sun-dried tomatoes, panko crumbs, salt, pepper, and whatever other spices you feel like experimenting with. I just keep it simple but it’s a good canvas for other spices.  

7.) Add eggs and stir until mixture is moistened.  You can add a little water if it seems dry.  

8.) Scoop out mixture by the 2 tablespoonful.  Last night I was impatient and made big patties which fell apart often. I had better success when I used a small ice cream scoop to measure out small consistent rounds that I then patted into cakes.  

9.) In the large skillet you sauted the kale in, heat a little more olive oil over medium low heat.  Add a few patties to the hot pan and give a few minutes on each side (4 to 5 minutes).  You’ll need a bit of room to flip them. This process takes awhile so I form all the patties on a pan and then place them back once done in the pan. I don’t worry about the raw egg because I pop into the oven at about 250 until the rest of dinner is done and to keep them warm.

10.) Serve warm! Joy the Baker suggests serving with “a lemon wedge, mustard, fresh spinach, and salty capers.”  and that  “the quinoa mixture can be left, uncooked in the fridge for a few days.”  

IMG_0885         IMG_0888

IMG_0897

Leave a comment.

