Almond Apricot Bars

It is wedding season. Today is my two month anniversary. Last weekend we drove 7.5 hours to see a beloved friend get hitched to her perfect match and today I leave for my hometown to be maid-of-honor for the only girl who would be my friend when I changed schools in second grade.  I am indeed honored. Last weekend I packed snacks and a to-go dinner that served well… until the tofu, which apparently sat too long outside the refrigerator, decided to wake me up at God knows what time a.m. and make me feel like I was going to pass out instead of fall back asleep.

But I still wanted to pack some nutritious options for this weekend’s trip – so I don’t end up ordering a kid’s meal of  chicken (?) nuggets and a jr. frosty. {I may have made some poor decisions last weekend! Don’t judge me!} Preferably one that doesn’t have the opportunity to go bad and force the hubs to play Florence Nightingale. Cliff bars were great for our honeymoon because they needed zero care and allowed us to share a bar when we a little hungry, but were trying to get through a very bumpy dirt/rock road before sundown. Plus we could save a little money by having a big (included with our hotel) breakfast buffet late in the morning, have a bar for lunch, and then have a nice dinner out.

photo (26)

So in an effort to make my own version of a cliff bar I turned to the internet and found lots of recipes that basically break down like this:

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups nuts (unsalted)

2 cups of dried fruit (whatever assortment and variety you want)

and whatever add-ins you want.

Directions:

Grind up the nuts in a food processor or well-endowed blender (stop before it turns into nut butter)

Put the nuts aside and then grind the dried fruit into a paste. Mix together. ( my vita-mix could not handle mixing these two. I just used my hands to combine the super-heavy, super-sticky nuts and fruit paste together so . No biggie.)

sprinkle in any add-ins. Mix again.

line a baking sheet with parchment and press the mixture into a rectangle.

freeze for at least 90 minutes and then cut em up.

photo (25)

So this morning I got into my cupboard to see what I had and this is what turned out:

1 1/2 cups almonds

1 cup of pitted medjool dates

3/4 cup dried apricots

1/4 cup dried pineapple

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

photo (27)

The dates I found on sale awhile back and have been wanting to make them into a lara/cliff/ kind/luna/whatever bar ever since. The pineapple didn’t add much to the flavor profile of these bars, but I had some pineapple to use up and it certainly didn’t hurt. The dates and pineapple were both incredibly sweet so the apricot kinda calmed things down a little.  I added the pumpkin seeds, sometimes labeled as pepitas, for color, flavor, and crunch, but it also adds a little zinc. I did a tiny amount of research on pumpkin seeds and apparently, while they don’t have a large amount of vitamin E- it does have E in a wide diversity of forms. I had no idea, but whfoods.com explains that “we are likely to get more health benefits when we are provided with that vitamin in all of its different forms.”  This is way above my head, but sounds interesting. Putting this on my list of things to learn more about!

slightly adapted from Cookie and Kate

3 thoughts on “Almond Apricot Bars

  1. “Maid of honor” – !! what! … Matron!, its only been 2 months, and you forgot about us already! Guuurl, u betta get it togetha!

Leave a comment.

